tat2

making a leather camera case

Hello Everyone. I seem to be getting a lot of requests to make custom leather cases for digital camera's. I started to make one then saw the issue of how to sew the bottom of the case to the side... I'm lost here as It kinda look like you sewing the bottom and the side sideways...

here is an image showing what I would like to do. pls PM me if you have made cases before. There was a fella to made a couple but I cannot find him.

THanks

Luigi makes awesome cases,i am new to leather but i read a tutorial on doing leather cups.In that tutorial they beveled both pieces of leather at 45 degrees and sewed through both just as if you were doing a belt.I imagine it to be a very hard thing to master.Good luck and hopefully some one with more experience can give directions on how to do the beveling and sewing.

My understanding is you bevel the edges to 45 degrees,glue the two edges together then sew through them.The threads you see on both sides of the case are the same thread,just like a belt but at an angle.I would do several practice pieces first as the tutorial claimed getting the positioning of the needle correct is hard.

Edited by analogphotographer

Tat2,

Believe it or not this is not nearly as hard as it may seem. That is, if you get off the beaten path and take another approach to the problem. I've made dozens of this type of case and being self taught I use a method that is simular but different at the same time. (See: The Book of Leather Work.)

The photos below are of a cartridge box made for a SASS Shooter and was made using the methods I will show . . . . later. I have to draw up a tutorial for you and put it in a PDF format so give me a day or two and I'll get it to you.

This process can be done with just a little bit of practice and there is no glue involved if you want the best results.

I'll be in touch,

Jim

Cartridge_Box.jpg

Cartridge_Box_2.jpg

post-141-1249222947_thumb.jpg

post-141-1249222954_thumb.jpg

Jim,