bergjes

How to prepare Kangaroo Lace

Hi,

I'm new to leather braiding.

I found this forum, and there is a whole lot of information.

Still I can't find an answer to my question.

I bought some kangaroo lace to braid a bracelet.

What I want to no is, do I need to prepare the Kangaroo lace? (oiling, leather soap, etc.)

I read something about preparing/beveling rawhide, but is this also with Kangaroo Lace?

Forgive me my ignorance, but I'm just starting.

Thanks,

Erik

(Netherlands)

It all depends on the lace itself.

1. Is the lace on a spool?
  2. Is the lace in a rolled up Ball, or Tamale?
  3. Is the lace already beveled?
  4. What size is the lace?
  5. Was the lace cut from drum stuffed Hide?

Softening the lace is also dependent on the type of hide it came from. If drum stuffed, I would use Pecards Leather dressing, where a little bit goes a long way. If it is already in lace form, you should not have to do too much to the actual lace itself.

Brian...

It all depends on the lace itself.

1. Is the lace on a spool?
  2. Is the lace in a rolled up Ball, or Tamale?
  3. Is the lace already beveled?
  4. What size is the lace?
  5. Was the lace cut from drum stuffed Hide?

Softening the lace is also dependent on the type of hide it came from. If drum stuffed, I would use Pecards Leather dressing, where a little bit goes a long way. If it is already in lace form, you should not have to do too much to the actual lace itself.

Brian...

Thanks Brian.

So many questions.

I bought the lace from murphywhips.com.

It's 20 meters, 3mm wide, from a spool. (brown and black)

For I can tell the lace is not beveled, but I don't know if this is nescesary.

Hope this will tell you more?

Thanks Brian.

So many questions.

I bought the lace from murphywhips.com.

It's 20 meters, 3mm wide, from a spool. (brown and black)

For I can tell the lace is not beveled, but I don't know if this is nescesary.

Hope this will tell you more?