Good morning All,

I am new to the Forum, and this is my first post. I have been watching the forum for a good while and finally decided to join.

I've been working with leather for about 11-12 years, on and off. Over the last several years I've grown more serious about it.

I enjoy the Swiss Army style leather works by the various saddlers, and various European styles as I believe they are some of the most tried and true methods to joining pieces of leather together. I too have also started a small collection of original Swiss pouches, etc for continued inspiration.

I use fairly traditional tools when it comes to building leather pieces, and I'm always trying to collect antique examples of tools where I can. I saddle stitch everything, and use at the minimum Ritza 25 tiger thread. Vegetable tanned leather is almost exclusively what I use as well.

I'm certain I will post pictures of my work, but if you are interested my Instagram name is also ClaimedVacancy: https://www.instagram.com/claimedvacancy/

Main Topic:

I followed this particular thread for awhile. I am interested in building the Swiss saddler clam, and I have not found any plans or drawings of said clam. I could spend the next few months in CAD drawing one from all the various images, but I believe there are more accurate drawings out there. 

https://shop.leder-louis.ch/product/Sattler-Naehzange-schweizer-Modell./587

Can anyone input on this?

Thank you all!

that is nice looking alright i would love to see how the mechanics work.

Agreed, chuck123wapati.

All that I can tell is that the lower jaw actuates, the foot pedal is pressed to apply pressure to the clamping action. There also appears to be a lock that can be tripped and held in place by a notch.

Based off the pictures the foot pedal has a cam that creates the actuation of the lower jaw, and the steel components apply friction at the right places.