SandyinAnaheim

Help choosing a cylinder arm machine

Hello everyone! I’m a first-time poster looking for machine advice.

I am a newbie bagmaker working mainly with vinyls and faux leathers, and will likely be using various types of canvas, denim and webbing in the future. I have a great domestic machine that I don’t want to overtax experimenting with bagmaking or frustrate myself with the wrong tool(s) for the job.

After reading and researching for a few months, I’ve determined that I’d like to add a compound feed cylinder arm to my arsenal. I’ve spent quite a few hours in the archives reading all the helpful threads on them.  I am a firm believer in buying the best I can afford and not having to rebuy a better machine once I outgrow the original purchase. I want to buy once, well and wisely. While I never say never, I don’t foresee using leather in my future.

I have narrowed down my choices to: Thor GC 1341, Titan GN-1341,TechSew 4800 Pro, Cobra Class 26, Pfaff 335 and Juki LS 1431. I am aware that the Juki is what all these other clones are based on, and some of them have more features than the Juki for less.

My goal is to work on small, structured handbags and wallets, and I have some likely unfounded concerns on cylinder arm diameters. Most of these machines come with a 3” cylinder arm diameter, which I’ve read may not be optimal on smaller projects like the gussets on small handbags. I know TechSew has the 2600 Pro which has a diameter of 1 7/8”, but the trade off is shorter max stitch length, less heavy thread options, less needle options and less thickness capacity under the needle. I don’t know if the diameter difference should be a concern, but I haven’t seen that question asked in my research on the forum.