Sign in to follow this  
Mocivnik

New to stamping, first project help need

So, I think I came to the step in my leathercrafting journey, where I can "afford" to start carving. My first (and most common I believe) idea is carving oak leaves on knife sheaths.

There isn't much to add, there are a lot of things about carving oak leaves on the internet, but I cannot find THE ONE tutorial, that would take me to final product.

Now, I have two things: Tandy's "BELT STRIP TIP SHEET by GEORGE HURST" where there's an oak leaf, which is a good pattern, but doesn't show where to use which stamp and list of stamps, that I own (list will be lower in this post). And since I'm completely new to using any stamps, beside pattern stamps, its difficult for me to even start.

Is there a pattern for this kind of oak leaf and acorn, that has:

0. List of tools needed (this one has it)

1. Order for use of tools

2. Where to use which tool (preferably with ones, that I have)

oak_leaf.thumb.png.96f0ab117cec87c4f4de7fd2b979bd0b.png

List of stamps that I have:

A104

BW1

BW2

BW3

BW4

B803

B936

B701

B60

C431

C431

D444S

D447S

D616

E684

F916

G508

G548

M887T

P217

S706

U851

V407

V407

X510S

X595

Z-X511

Edited by Mocivnik

A lot of the Craftaid sheets will show you where to use what tool. There are also YouTube tutorials that show how to do it, including tool order. Others have done oak leaves and shown their tools, on here. In fact, I think one of the tutorials pinned in the carving forum is for an oak leaf.

ETA: There are two tutorials in the Figure Carving forum. That would be the better one to look at than the Sheridan/Floral Carving material (this subforum) because it’s a different style. 

Edited by Mablung

1 minute ago, Mablung said: