55Truck

Fire Helmet Shield?

I am a firefighter and looking to get into leather working. On every fire helmet is a leather front piece that serves as a form of identification while wearing the helmet. This is called a shield or front.

I have never done any leather working before but I would like to try to make a shield. I have attached a picture but in case you can't tell, the middle square (called an insert) has sunken or recessed numbers. The shields consist of 3 layers. A black front layer, a white or red middle layer, and another black layer for the backing.

I was wondering what kind of leather, as well as what tools I need to complete this job; or where do I find colored leather, etc. Any help is greatly appreciated.

shield_demo.jpg

shield_demo.jpg

post-10745-1244518811_thumb.jpg

Welcome to leatherworking.

Not sure without looking at it in person but those look relatively simple (not easy but simple). If the letters are recessed they are more then likely stamped and then painted. As far as the other parts it looks like they are cut and layered basically, use a different color leather underneath and cut holes in the top layer so you can see the other layers.

Those look machine stitched and that would be the easiest way but you could very well do them by hand.

As far as finding leather there are several suppliers. Tandy is a decent retail store, Springfeild leather (Kevin post here regularly) is great, waterhouse leathers, seigel of california, alot of these places will have plenty of types to choose from.

There was someone on the forum here who has made those and I dont recall who it is. Someone with a little more experience may be able to help out. Maybe do a search around and it may turn up. I think they made a few of these for the guys on there squad or whatever you all call it.