I am very new to hand tooling and hand dying leather. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on my question.....

Can you dye leather and then use a resist over the dye to antique the leather. I use Feibings Prof. Oil dye and then we use the Feibings Antique paste. Using the paste

darkens the leather I have already dyed, which makes sense, so I am wondering if I can use a resist on leather that has been dyed?

Also, the leather I am tooling is being used for furniture can anyone suggest a finish that is matte but will seal the leather and the dye.

Thank you Thank you for any suggestions and advice...this is my first post, but I have learned tons from this forum and am grateful to all of you for sharing your knowledge!!

yes you can- and welcome!

That's the way it is normally done. oil the piece when you have finished, let it dry, dye the piece, let it dry, and apply a resist, let it dry, and apply antique. (let it dry!)

then buff and apply finish- I like neutral shoe polish for many things.

pete

I am very new to hand tooling and hand dying leather. I would greatly appreciate any suggestions on my question.....

Can you dye leather and then use a resist over the dye to antique the leather. I use Feibings Prof. Oil dye and then we use the Feibings Antique paste. Using the paste

darkens the leather I have already dyed, which makes sense, so I am wondering if I can use a resist on leather that has been dyed?

Also, the leather I am tooling is being used for furniture can anyone suggest a finish that is matte but will seal the leather and the dye.

Thank you Thank you for any suggestions and advice...this is my first post, but I have learned tons from this forum and am grateful to all of you for sharing your knowledge!!

Hi meg, welcome to LeatherWorker!

Yes, you can use a resist over your dye job to resist the antique. In fact, that's what a lot of people do.