lowes48

What Is The Max Thread Size For A Consew 225?

Hey Guys,

I have been making custom watch straps for about 3 years on the side for some extra cash and as a fun hobby but I have recently brached out to do other things like a ranger belt and some small wallets and cases. I have been hand stitching exculsively, and I use it as a "selling feature". But when it comes to hand stitching a belt the time and effort isn't worth it IMO so I want to get a machine to speed things up and get the best use of my hobby time! I found what appears to be a nice Consew 225 locally, and I plan on going to look at it sometime soon. I will take some leather and some thread to make sure it will do what I want, but I do have a question on the maximum thread size the 225 will handle. I don't know if the machine has a slow-speed servo motor, etc..., but if I can get a screaming deal (real close to FREE!), I'm hoping any add-ons won't kill me and the overall cost won't be that bad.

Anyway, the thread size I currently use on my stuff is 207 and 277, and some heavier stuff that came from Tandy. I just want to make sure the 225 will run with this size thread. If it won't can one of you gurus suggest a similar machine that will run 207+ thread and doesn't cost a fortune?

Thanks in advance for the info and I hope you all have a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Hey Guys,