amcardon

Rex 11-155R Competency Question

Hey guys, I've been asked to make some 2-layer leather belts for Christmas presents but do not feel like hand sewing 8 belts! Anyway, I have access to a Rex 11-155R machine but I've never used an industrial machine before and was hoping to get some input... Does anybody on here know if that machine would be up to the task? Any suggestions on thread/needle combo? I've only ever done sewing by hand (knife sheaths, gun holsters, and a few rifle slings, all saddle stitch) so this is a whole new ball of wax for me!

Hi, Ask Wizcraft, he has an Rex machine and should know them.

Trox

Hey guys, I've been asked to make some 2-layer leather belts for Christmas presents but do not feel like hand sewing 8 belts! Anyway, I have access to a Rex 11-155R machine but I've never used an industrial machine before and was hoping to get some input... Does anybody on here know if that machine would be up to the task? Any suggestions on thread/needle combo? I've only ever done sewing by hand (knife sheaths, gun holsters, and a few rifle slings, all saddle stitch) so this is a whole new ball of wax for me!

Yes,it should handle the belts ok,just be sure to hold on to the needle thread the first 3 stitches as this machine doesn't have a safety clutch & you take a chance of knocking it out of time.

Bob

Hi, Ask Wizcraft, he has an Rex machine and should know them.

Trox

I have no such machine! I posted an ad for a friend who had a different model Rex, which he sold about a year ago.

I have a National 300N, which I modified. It now has the specs of a Juki LU-1508 NH.

Thanks guys! Hopefully I don't screw up my buddy's machine :whistle: I've been looking around to buy one but as a hobbyist leatherworker in med school with 3 kids, it's just not too high on the priority list (just high on the "I want" list!).

Thanks again!