krista

Biothane

I have been sewing for about 20 years but mostly light fabric based items. I am excited to be going in a new direction and moving into leather, and primarily biothane. I have not purchased any equipment yet, so if anyone has any beginner tips on working with biothane that I should know before I get started, I am all ears (or eyes).

cheers

Krista

Edited by krista

Hi Krista,

There is a BrahamaWeb thread currently running about this. You should also contact http://www.bioplastics.us and have them send you samples and instructions on how to work it.

Art

I have been sewing for about 20 years but mostly light fabric based items. I am excited to be going in a new direction and moving into leather, and primarily biothane. I have not purchased any equipment yet, so if anyone has any beginner tips on working with biothane that I should know before I get started, I am all ears (or eyes).

cheers

Krista

Biothane is NOT leather. It is plastic coated nylon webbing, there is NO similaritys . I tried it and my experiance is hard to sew even on a new machine, the stitches sit on top of the material and will wear off easily. So either you are getting into plastics or leather they are NOT one and the same.

Biothane is NOT leather. It is plastic coated nylon webbing, there is NO similaritys . I tried it and my experiance is hard to sew even on a new machine, the stitches sit on top of the material and will wear off easily. So either you are getting into plastics or leather they are NOT one and the same.

OUCH! Or... she could be looking to do both.

My point being what works on one may not work on the other. Different tools and machines may be needed. The statement was getting into leather primarily BIOTHANE thus my point they ARE different.

OUCH! Or... she could be looking to do both.

I do realize leather and BioThane are different. and yes, I am looking to begin working with both materials.