Chief31794

Stroping Ceramic Blades - Why?

I've been using them for about three years, they get dull and drag, I strop them and they cut smooth and clean again. Don't understand the physics of it, but I get dark residue on the strop and as I said it definitely has an affect.

Chief

Hi Doc,

My experience with the ceramic blades is the same as the Chief. I keep a small strop on my bench and after a few cuts with the blade i give it a few strokes on both sides. I am also a wood carver and use the same technique with my chisels - cut for a while and then strop. It does make a difference.

regards, TapTapTap

It's my understanding that the chemicals in the leather build up a microscopic crust on the edge that causes the drag. Stropping removes that crust and just exposes the sharp blade again.

Mike

Every Tandy video by any of their instructors contains a line like: "the ceramic blades never need sharpening, but they should be stropped."

Why?

The ceramic making up those blades is an order of magnitude harder than white jeweler's rouge. Rubbing the ceramic blade with white rouge can have no impact on the ceramic blade.

Is it just some kind of ritualistic thing?

Edited by DrGull

Mike:

If that is true, then there's a point to it. Do you have any kind of reference for the "crust" theory?

Certainly....

As we know, leather is a product of a chemical process - it is preserved from deterioration by tanning it. That process makes the leather slightly acidic on the pH scale. There are also natural oils, waxes and fats that are preserved along with the skin cells. When we drag a blade - steel, ruby, or ceramic- through leather we're necessarily also dragging it through everything else IN the leather. That's where the 'crust' comes from...though I'd lean more towards 'film'