Hi there.

I've been reading through a lot of the forums discussing various machines and what they're used for . . . and to be honest (and perfectly blunt) I'm so NEW to leather working (and sewing) most of it is just Greek to me. Can you help? I'm very eager to learn.

Here's my story:

I make leather book covers and simple leather bags from scrap upholstery leather. Totally self-taught. I use a home machine (Brother SE 400) which has served me well for the past 5 or so years. Recently I've begun creating flat-bottom bags that require my machine to sew through about 4 layers of thin leather . . . and my machine is none too happy. I'd also like to branch out and start to use thicker leathers, but that's never been an option with this machine. I'd also like to sew zippers without the fear of dying..but I'm not sure that will ever happen.

What I'm looking for:

I have about $1,200 to spend (including shipping, handling and all additional things).

I'm looking for a new machine. Maybe a 'starter' machine.

That's easy to use/learn for a newbie.

That will sew thin upholstery leather (let's say four layers of 1.1mm) but also give me the chance to try something thicker for strapping or wallets.

Does this exist?

Brand names you trust?

Where do you buy them? Online?

How much does shipping usually run for these large heavy machines?

(All the technical talk of bobbin and thread size have my brain wobbling around in my head - I know I need a walking foot machine, but that's really all I know.)

Your help is so much appreciated.

Thanks!

talia

From your work description I believe that a decent upholstery grade walking foot machine will suffice. Let me use a Chandler 406 RB as an example (there are many other brands similar to it).