Dove

Repairing Vintage Purse Lacework

Hi everyone! I've never done leatherwork before.

I bought a beautiful vintage leather purse that has significant wear on the lacework in some spots.

A coworker does do leather work, and gave me a book called "leatherwork manual by al stohlman and others" as well as some lace, a modeling tool and a 2 prong needle. He identified the lace style as a double stitch and showed me the section in the book on splicing and how to do a double loop.

My questions are: how far into the old lace should I remove to splice in the new lace? I want to do each repair while retaining as much of the original lace as I can. I don't want to relace the whole purse. Do I just pull the old lace out? Please see attached photos regarding the worn areas:

D929D11D-E0A9-45F1-A78B-D2AEA02897BC_zps

67A59398-7384-43BF-9B3D-303321F69CC6_zps

61656F1A-D971-4FA5-8EBD-F50E17C99C88_zps

B1CEA95A-5C33-4F88-98A3-9407F63A0474_zps

6A5C5EE5-B65C-4211-88BB-DA89D0C30CFB_zps

Edited by Dove

Personally, I'd replace it all .. no splicing to the old. You may notice from the book, you'll need to remove 4-5 stitches each side of each break to tie in anyway, and by the time you 'fix' all of that, you've got a bit many splices (thus, lots o short pieces).

if your realy set on just splicing , check out http://kingsmerecrafts.com #96 shows lacing & splicing, also has a video.

But that said, I agree with JLS, redo the whole bag.

Would it be possible to relace just the front panel without going around the entire back panel. The tape measure sits at the joint between the actual purse and the front flap panel. The damage starts at the joint and is spattered around the front flap. The back panel (behind tape) has no torn lace. I am mostly concerned with taking apart the "bag" part and then not being able to connect it again. The only other damage is on the inside panel on the bottom corner which I think could be spliced in.

88A02CD4-4AC6-46CC-AEA5-0ACA270CFF85_zps