CuttingHorse

Different Brands Of Tools

I've been doing leather crafting for a few years but just recently discovered the tool makers beyond what Tandy sells. I've had my eye on some Barry King tools, and I was wondering, are they worth it? Can you see a drastic difference in the tooling or is it just a better quality tool? The same questions apply to the mallets they sell.

Is there another brand aside from Barry King that is recommended?

Thanks in advance!

Barry King, Robert Beard Pro Series, Jeremiah Watt Horse Shoe Brand are probably easiest to get your hands on since they have websites. There are other great tool makers, you just need to get their contact info and most of them will send a catalog. It's one of those things you just need to try for yourself. Pick a couple of the tools you use the most and buy the ones Barry King makes and see if the difference is worth it to you. Personally I waited years before trying one of big tool makers and noticed a huge difference with the first strike of my maul. I have picked up the tools I use most and have never looked back. If you plan on carving leather for the rest of your life you should consider it an investment in your craft. The better tools are time savers, but they don't make you a better carver.

Barry King tools are superb, and half the price of Bob Beard or Jeremiah. I've got tools from all three, and I always end up using the Barry Kings.

Julia

I will second that the BK tools are top shelf and very reasonably priced as well. I say try any of the top shelf makers and you will not be disappointed.