nickortizzle1035

A Couple Questions On My New To Me Singer 29-4

A few months ago I picked up a singer 29-4 from 1914. With a ton of cleaning and oiling I have it up and running. I know am trying to figure out what thread to use. I went to tandy and picked up some z-69 and #207 threads. the 69 sews fine, but on the bottom of the stitch the thread digs a little bit into the leather. the 207 won't sew at all... it just loops up in a big mess on the bottom. I am very new to machines and have fiddled a little bit with the tensioner on top and the little tension clip on the bobbin, to no avail. Does anybody know what is the thickest thread I can run through this machine. I was only sewing 2/3oz and 3/4oz vegtan. both doubled over. If anybody has any tips they would be much appreciated!!

Size 92 is the largest that will work,if the machine isn't too worn out #138 MIGHT work ,when it loops underneath try more tension.

thanks for the info! I have some 138 on the way in. The machine I have is in great shape internally, so hopefully it will work. if not, i'll give 92 a shot. thanks again

The heavier the top thread, the sooner you will wear out the teeth on the driving pinion gear. As this worsens, you'll notice that there is more slop in the shuttle carrier and the timing will become erratic under load. After a while the hook will become too retarded to effectively pick up the thread loop on the needle and you'll start seeing more and more skipped stitches as you sew.

Another negative impact from using too heavy of a top thread is the extra pressure it puts on the feed cam for the foot, as it drags the leather against the force of the stitches. It will cause it to wear faster than otherwise if you had thinner thread and less overall thread tension. This will cause the stitch length to suffer.