firstcapitalfirearms

Sewing Machine For Beginner

I am in the process of wanting to buy a portable sewing machine that is capable of sewing a minimum of 7oz leather. I am wanting a portable because space is limited at this time. I am also wanting something that is below 1500.00 as well. I have narrowed my choices down to either the Tippman Boss or the Sailrite LSZ-1. Can anyone give their advice / opinions or their recommendations. I am going to be making holsters / gun belts etc. 

Oh yeah this will be my first sewing machine and I am new at this whole adventure. 

Thanks

Mark

The sailrite LSZ-1 is a joke for sewing holsters - not sure if you have seen the "funny" Youtube Video already.

Putt 200 bucks on top and you can go for a proper Cowboy CB3200 with walking, Servo Motor and speed reducer f.i from Toledo Sewing Machines:

http://www.tolindsewmach.com/cb3200.html

EDIT:
sorry - have not noticed the word "portable" earlier - however you should consider the CB3200 anyway. Maybe build your own space saving stand. Well - depends on how portable you need your machine.

Edited by Constabulary

36 minutes ago, Constabulary said:

The sailrite LSZ-1 is a joke for sewing holsters - not sure if you have seen the "funny" Youtube Video already.

Putt 200 bucks on top and you can go for a proper Cowboy CB3200 with walking, Servo Motor and speed reducer f.i from Toledo Sewing Machines:

http://www.tolindsewmach.com/cb3200.html

EDIT:
sorry - have not noticed the word "portable" earlier - however you should consider the CB3200 anyway. Maybe build your own space saving stand. Well - depends on how portable you need your machine.

I have not seen the Youtube video. Most of what I have seen was made by Sailrite. If you know what the title of the video is or can post a link I would be interested in watching it. I do like the Cowboy machines but they take up too much space for what I have.