oldvet

weaver cub hand machine

Hello,

I am new to leather sewing machines. I have hand sewn all my items and decided to purchase  machine from Weaver. Any one have any pro's or con's on this unit??

Thank you from New Mexico the Land of Cactus, Stick and everything that sting's or bite'z!!

You didn't mention what are you planning on sewing as there maybe other options that maybe better suited for want you want to sew. In the manual operated machines there are only three options I know of and all three can handle up to 3/4" thick: Weaver Cub (~$1800 US) rated max thread V346, Cowboy Outlaw (~$1400) rated max thread V346 and maybe V415 and the Tippmann Boss (~$1000) rated max thread V415. 

kgg

I am into old time holsters both hip and shoulder also  rifle scabbards. I finally purchased one of Weavers reconditioned Cub's at a very nice price. The Cowboy Company wouldn't give me the time of day and the Tippman is the same as the Outlaw and priced at $1500 to $1700. Consew also makes hand operated machines but they run around $1700-$2500 . I make the Old style Slim Jim with a different set up for carrying on belt or shoulder. I am experimenting with different needle sizes from 160, 180 and 200.  I sew any where from 6 to 10 oz leather. Any suggestions are appreciated.

1 hour ago, oldvet said:

I make the Old style Slim Jim with a different set up for carrying on belt or shoulder. I am experimenting with different needle sizes from 160, 180 and 200.  I sew any where from 6 to 10 oz leather. Any suggestions are appreciated.

The thread size determines the best needle size, not vice versa. The rule of thumb is that for every thread size there will be a basic minimum thickness that can reliably hide the lockstitch knots. For 6 ounces that might only be #92 thread.The best needle for that thread is a #19 (metric 120). A #20 (125) can also be used to poke a slightly bigger hole.