Cowgirlup8807

The Key To Cutting Straight Edges?

I am very new at cutting things out of leather and have tried with both a knife and shears to get a good straight edge when I cut out patterns and cannot cut a straight line no matter how hard I try. Normally it is the heavier leathers that i have the biggest issues with. I do not have a metal straight edge which is what I had supposed I could try next because cutting against a plastic or wood ruler doesn't help either. Any tips or tricks of the trade for cutting straight professional looking lines?

I use a pacific arc cork backed metal ruler. But as you get better you will beable to freehand a straight line I also use a olfa H-1 break away knife.

Chris

Edited by sinpac

Scribe a line using your straight edge, then follow the line with your knife. My way to do it.

I have several metal rulers from a 4 foot long drywall t-square down to a 1 foot "L". I use one of these with a sharp utility knife laid out flat on the floor so as few starts and stops as possible.

scribe your line with a scratch awl then cut slowly. Sounds like you're relying on your straight edge too much. Those things have a tendency to move around. Use it to scratch your line then trust yourself to follow it. Go slowly first to get a top cut, then go back over it again to cut all the way through. The knife will follow your first cut you made.

Sinpac and I agree on that ruler. Mine may be a different mfg. but both are cork backed, . . . and I have no trouble with them moving.

I also use a strop sharpened drywall knife that stays "touched up" for most of my cutting. If I can use my strap cutter, I will, . . . but that's only for belt blanks, etc.

The "sharpness" of your cutting instrument is the key to it for me, . . . dull knife and I start making boo-boos. STOP ! Strop ! Continue.

May God bless,

Dwight