DaltonMasterson

Cogra And Stitch Question

Hi. I am new to sewing machines, and just got a Cobra Class 4 delivered this week. With some practice the last couple of days, I can make a pretty decent stitch on top.

I am having problems with the back stitch though, but am figuring it out with practice. It seems to snag the thread once in awhile, and leaves a large knot on the bobbin side of the piece.

My real question... I build holsters, and with my handsewing, I can pull the stitching tight enough that I dont need to groove the stitching that would contact the gun. Using the machine, the stitching all lays on top of the leather, and will definately snag on a firearm eventually. This would be on the bottom/bobbin side of the piece while I am sewing.

Do I need to tighten the bobbin tension to get this to suck in more, or am I expecting too much from the machine? With handstitching, I can get away with wetting the inside of the holster some to help the thread pull in flush. Is this what I need to do in this case? I groove the outside stitch lines of course.

Some background that might help. I am using 14 oz of W&C with contact cement to glue. Thread is 277 bonded with an Organ 24/180 needle.

Thanks!

DM

You machine is identical to what we sell & it should make a nice tight looking stitch.The most common problem is people forget to wrap the thread around the side (or second) tension 1 & 1/2 times.You have to do this as this tension is a rolling tension & doing it that way makes the thread grip the roller better.

HTH

Bob

Edited by sewmun

Hi. I am new to sewing machines, and just got a Cobra Class 4 delivered this week. With some practice the last couple of days, I can make a pretty decent stitch on top.

I am having problems with the back stitch though, but am figuring it out with practice. It seems to snag the thread once in awhile, and leaves a large knot on the bobbin side of the piece.