Sign in to follow this  
Athenah

Western Saddle Bags

Hi all, First project post ever.

This is my very first big project, I have been working on leather since christmas (belts, small bags, a wallet, etc.), so when you see a lot of mistakes (I do) please understand I am still a total newbie.

The Project: I wanted saddle bags that were taller and more slender to hold a water bottle or two upright to discourage leeks. The pouches are going to be about 8 by 11. I made the pattern based on my own saddle, designed the tooling pattern, then learned how to do all that sinue sewing... These bags are for myself, and why I wanted to learn how to deal with leather. I have a newfound and profound respect for those that can hand sew so beautifully! I havent managed to bleed on anything yet, but did poke myself a couple times. After finishing the sewing on this one half of the project my hands hurt so bad I had to have my husband peel the potatoes last night. So, here is what I have so far:

halfsaddlebag2.jpg

halfsaddlebag1.jpg

The other half of this is still needing to be sewn, but everything else is done...can't wait to finish but have to wait for my hands to work properly again.

Edited by Athenah

Nice and clean. Well done.

For your first project of this type, looks like a bang-up job to me! Wish my first project had been so good>

For your first project of this type, looks like a bang-up job to me! Wish my first project had been so good. You might want to check out some of the posts on here about finish cuts on your tooling!

very sweet

This is my very first big project, I have been working on leather since christmas (belts, small bags, a wallet, etc.), so when you see a lot of mistakes (I do) please understand I am still a total newbie.