pbj

Complete Beginner - Can Someone Look Over My Order (Am I Missing Anything?)

Hey guys-

I'm trying to make a simple case for my daily items (some paper/kindle/book) and decided to try my hand at it as I can't find one in a size I'm looking for. I'm trying to mimic this design as a launching ground: http://www.tannergoods.com/collections/all/products/document-folio-3 mostly because it looks simple enough to start toying around with and then go from there

In my Tandy cart, I have:

11310-53 - Button Stud 8mm Screwback Brass

1379-11 - Double Cap Rivets Small Solid Brass 100/pk

3101-00 - 2 lb. Mini Anvil

3779-04 - Buttonhole Leather Punch 5mm

8056-00 - Craftool Dot/Rivet Anvil

8076-03 - Craftool Edge Beveler Sz 3

8100-00 - Craftool Rivet Setter

99606-02 - Economy Single Shoulder 6 to 7 oz.

I already have straight edges/cutting boards/knives. Is there anything else I should add to my cart that I'm missing? Anything I should substitute out?

Thanks everyone!

Ok, forget it then.

Edited by TXAG

Don't buy the anvil, the rivets, the rivet setter, the rivet anvil. All of that is to se one rivet. Either use one chicago screw or sew the sot n the middle.

I wanted to try my hand on some cheap leather while I worked out my pattern and to practice my finishing. I plan to eventually buy a nicer piece

Re: rivets. Excellent advice... Don't know why I was so fixated on the rivet. Sewing isn't a bad idea.

The anvil I added because of the sale price, but I guess I don't need it. If there's any more advice like this, I'm all ears!

I'm actually in NY- I found out about tanner through a local shop that carries their dog leashes and collars.

Thanks again!

I saw one tool I would get if I were you, . . . it is called a plastic bone folder. It sells for about 6 bucks.

It will allow you to burnish the edges of your project, . . . and there looks like a lot of edge work on that particular type folder.