midwestwelder

What kind of leather is this?

First of all, let me say that I am EXTREMELY new to leather working, so new in fact that I haven't made a single project yet, and am getting together the tools and products I will need to make a leather holster for myself, which was the catalyst for me getting into some leather work. Anyway, I was able to get hold of some leather yesterday. It is a very stiff type of leather. If I had to guess, I would say it is the 6-7 ounce weight. The size is 3'x4' sheets. I bought 6 sheets of it for $30, which I believe was probably a very good deal. I was told by the person that I got the leather from that the leather was used in the making of Justin brand boots.

That leads me to the question in the title. Does anyone know what type of leather this is? What types of projects would it be good for? I apologize for the quality of the pictures. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

leather1.jpg

leather2.jpg

G'Day and welcome to the world of leather.

If it came from a boot maker, the first thought that popped into my head was sole leather , for the soles of boots, shoes etc.  as you did mention that its quite stiff.  May also be good making leather sandals perhaps?

HS

15 hours ago, midwestwelder said:

That leads me to the question in the title. Does anyone know what type of leather this is? What types of projects would it be good for?

It doesn't look like leather at all, as leather comes in hides, sides, shoulders, etc., not in 3'x4' rectangles. This looks more like bonded leather and probably used for insoles. It is real leather, but is much like particle board and has no grain. I use bonded leather all the time, but in a much thinner weight, for stiffening bags. Sorry, but I have no idea what this would be good for.