Sign in to follow this  
Lace

All the possible tools.. but no teacher :(

I have been working at a leather repair/tack shop now for almost 2 years and LOVE LOVE LOVE it. I do some repairs and I have made some things like english browbands, oxen forehead protectors, braclets, done squillions of repairs on bridles, halters, leather jackets, bags and etc etc etc. But I find myself left with a sense of unsatisfaction. I'm looking at a leather braclet I made last year that I am wearing and see that I have come a far way in my design and techniques when compared to the new braclet I have on my other wrist. But even it is only.. basic. I don't feel like I'm learning enough and my boss who can do so so sooo much just doesn't have the time to teach me anything. When we come across a new job or a harder one I need more guidance with, I'm told to go wait on customers and he'll do it later. I feel KIND of useless and I feel that my work is rugged, unrefined and reflects the self-taught unfinnsihed edges and crooked rivets that I have been taught. I know some of the methods I have been taught are not correct and at my shop don't need to do anything more than make straps. I can do straps. Fine. BUT I WANT MORE NOW!!!

I've gone to a few books and I constantly hound this website looking for things I can do, but I see the guitar straps and full english bridles and I despratly want to do this.

I need help. I need someone to show me what I'm doing. I know a little bit about leather but not all there is.

I want to make a bridle. An enlish bridle and I figure since I know straps and I'm an english rider myself, I certianly know how to put it together... I just need some guidance in making it look.. refined. good straight edges. Nice straight stitching and clean lines throughout the whole thing. I can hand stitch and I can thin the edges, put on buckles and make the measurements.. I just CAN NOT figure out what kind of tools I need to make this happen.