klousfrog

Skirt Style

Why are short skirts becoming so popular.. i could understand on ladies but not saddles. i see all these saddles with the skirts cut 3 in above where the rigging plate ends. the skirts distribute weight and add padding with sheepskin. that's the plus of western saddles vs. English. It may make the saddle lighter but that doesn'tt help much when you pinpoint the weight into a smaller area. i do like the lighter look of it...not so bulky...but after i did some research i decided not to shorten the skirts. what are your opinions on this is it another style that's not so functional or does it work just the same.

Somehow I missed this.

I think there are several reasons why skirts a getting a little shorter. I have been shortening the skirts on most of my saddles for the last 20 years or so and this is my reasoning. I generally only shorten the length of the skirt and not the depth, but will depend on the horse and rider.

Back in the 90’s I started seeing a change in the conformation of horses I was building saddles for. These horses had a heavier and more developed shoulder. Therefore. I began to shorten both the tip of the bar and the distance between the front of the bar and the leading edge of the skirt. My normal bar and skirts measurements were restricting the movement of the shoulder and could develop a pressure point. In fact after a few years my tree maker informed me that they were shortening the front tip of most of their bars, as they had also seen this change in conformation

In the last few years I have noticed another change in conformation. I am seeing a more compact or shorter coupled horse. Again, I am shortening both the back tip of the bar and/or skirt whatever the case may be. My standard skirt length was interfering with the movement of the hip. Plus, from time to time was seeing a pressure point on top of the spine due to the conformation.