TroyWest

Full Quill Ostrich Roper

I was talking with Clay B. and Crystal the other night in the chat room and they asked me to post pictures of this saddle.

I actually made this several years ago for an old trick roper. He saw the pictures of the saddle we made for Pres. Bush and called and ordered a saddle.

Then he called back and said," I've been wearing these ostrich boots for 20 yrs. and they held up real well. Whats the chances you could cover my saddle with ostrich?"

I said " I think I can do that."

It took 4 full ostrich hides to completely cover this saddle.

I'm really not a fan of ostrich saddles, but as ostrich saddle go, it turned out O.K.

full_ostrich_saddle.jpgostrich_20saddle_20wd.jpg

Then he called back and said," I want conchos just like the ones on his saddle."

I said, I can do that."

Then he called back and said," What's the chances you could put a diamond in the middle of the star on those conchos?"

I said," I think I can do that."

Now I really had never done that before, but I figured if anybody can do it, I can learn. So I called my cousin, who cuts precious stones for a living and asked him how to do it, and he told me over the phone. Then he ordered some diamonds for me. We used what is known as a tube setting, which means a silver tube completely encircles the stone, holding it with much greater strength than a prong setting.

I sure didn't want some horse slinging his head with a bit and knocking the diamond across the arena. Anyway, here it is.

diamond_concho.jpg

Then he told me what he wanted on the horn cap, and on the cantle plate, insisting that I use 14k gold for the letters. The small letters on the horn cap I could purchase, the letters on the cantle plate I sawed out with a jewelers saw.

Hope you enjoy the pics.

Troy

ostrich_20horn_20cap_20wd.jpg

Jesus_20is_20Lord_20wd.jpg

post-5656-1231124716_thumb.jpg

post-5656-1231124784_thumb.jpg

post-5656-1231124850_thumb.jpg

post-5656-1231124917_thumb.jpg