Joshstrange

sewing machine choices

So I have been looking at the cobra class 3/4 and the cb3200 for a sewing machine and my question is do they like to sew the minimum of 6oz.  I rarely do anything more than 7-8 oz in my wallets and lined belts and slings are 10-12oz.  the thickest i've sewn so far is a about 5/16-1/2in thick in a knife sheath its not something I build alot of. I'm worried that the machine won't sew in its sweet spot.  What do you folks think, is a class 3/4 to big for what I do.  If so what machine do you guys recommend.  I can only afford 1 machine right now and I know that I will be needing more than one, just looking for a machine that can do the bulk of my work currently.  Thanks in advance.

I'm no expert, but I'm sure they'll be around shortly. I just went through the process of purchasing a sewing machine and was looking for the 'one size fits all' solution which is like finding a unicorn in a pasture of spaghetti bushes. I was duly thrashed...well...not really...but I could see it on their virtual brows, that feeling of "oh no...not another one". lol  Anyway, I've found that something like a Consew 1206RB (Juki 441 clone), a flat bed machine, will sew up to 3/8" leather and likes the lighter stuff. I'll be purchasing this, or one like this in the next few days. I've already purchased a Cowboy CB3200 for heavier applications.  From the sounds of it, for what you do, you'd be better off with something like the Consew or similar, and maybe, since you don't do a lot of heavy stuff, go to hand stitching for that.

57 minutes ago, TonyRV2 said: