BMD

Advice on purchasing old Pfaff 335 H3

Hi everyone

First time posting.  Looking for some advice on purchasing a sewing machine.  I have limited experience with industrial machines and had an old Juki I used for some denim projects a long time ago but nothing when it comes to leather.

I'm trying to find a machine that will sew leather totes, handbags, purses/wallets, belts, etc. in veg tan.  I like the look of a thick top stitch stitch but I know that machines are limited in terms of needle size and thread.

I managed to find an old Pfaff 335 that is part of a leather garment studio that uses furnishing leather and I'm looking for advice in terms of whether or not its a good beginner machine to learn on and hopefully be able to get through a few layers of 2mm to 3mm veg tan (or more?) with a decent thickness of thread.

I've tried o look for the manual online without any luck and I'm struggling to find complete info on the letters and numbers in the model.  I found a few but not all..

And finally, it seems like it has a servo motor but not sure and if so how slow can this machine stitch as it says 500 to 2500 rpm.  Seems like 500 is still quite fast!? :)

I've attached some photos if that helps. 

Thanks in advance for your help!

1.jpg

2.jpg

3.jpg

4.jpg

5.jpg

The servo motor speeds would be switchable maximums, not minimums.

ok   335 H3 regular lift which is 11mm. B class so for light materials, L meaning for sewing leather,  N which is stitch length. On older models, it was 4mm max.

The 900 numbers on the plate means it had some toys on it which are gone - backtack, foot lift, trimmers. now a plan jane machine.

looks in pretty good shape.  Take samples if you are going to look at it and sew on it.  Max. Thread is #138.  This one has the small bobbin..

glenn

Thanks for your replies guys. This helps a lot.