paprhangr

Hem My Jeans

Since I have a Consew 206 RB 5, thought I try to hem my jeans.

Can anyone recommend what size thread and needle works best?

We hem most jeans with tex 80 thread and a size 125/20 needle. Regards, Eric

Thanks, tex 80 ? I am new to sewing,is that what I ask for at JoAnn store? I have bonded nylon 92 and I picked up some small spools of upholstery thread 300mm can they be used to sew jeans?

I use type 'E' thread and a size 18 needle...or maybe 20? I forget...

F thread would work fine too though, but I find E is as durable as I need...

I dont understand the E & F threads? could you explain

thanks for the link in the right direction now :)

I buy #80 Jeans thread from Wawak Tailor's Supply: www.wawak.com

While not a thread answer, to help get over the seams I use a jean-a-ma-jig, AKA hump-jumper.

While not a thread answer, to help get over the seams I use a jean-a-ma-jig, AKA hump-jumper.

I used one of those until I got a walking foot machine. The OP also uses a walking foot machine and won't need the jig.

thanks for the help. i di hem 3 pairs of jeans and turned out good.

this trick i found on you tube about cutting out a little bit of that heavy hump

made it easy going over.

Nice job. You'll likely get some fray there where it's notched, but the rest of the rolled hem will keep it in check.

Regards, Eric

Actually, I do have a compound walking-foot machine, but I'm a novice and sometimes I get over the seams easily and sometimes find the jean-a-ma-jig helpful.

thanks, I love all the 'tricks" keep n comin