Sign in to follow this  
Don

Introduction

Greetings to all leather heads...

I am so excited to be on a forum with such talent. I own a custom saddle shop in Bryan, TX where I spend every day trying to perfect my craft within a medium that has, at times, a mind all its own. I have been building saddles for only five years or so but have been a leatherhead since I was about 12.

Anyway boring you with my life story is by no means my ultimate goal so thank you again for having me on this forum and I look forward to swapping ideas and tricks with all of you.

websaddle1.JPG

chopper.jpg

Taylor_saddle2.JPG

post-3790-1189425856_thumb.jpg

post-3790-1189425917_thumb.jpg

post-3790-1189425988_thumb.jpg

Wow! EXCELLENT craftsmanship!! Don, glad you could hook up with us! Tim

bootiephull work man !! I hope you have more pictures and look forward to seeing your next project come alive.

Welcome Home Don !

Welcome Don. Looks like you'll be bringing lots of experience to the table. Looking forward to seeing your work and advice.

Regis

[beautiful tooling on the silver saddle! Could you please send more fotos of close-ups and do you draw your own paterns?

pea-aire'

[beautiful tooling on the silver saddle! Could you please send more fotos of close-ups and do you draw your own paterns?

pea-aire'

Yes I do draw all my own tooling patterns. It takes up a lot of time, but I draw new patterns for almost every saddle I build, unless the customer picks out a tool pattern that I already have drawn. But I find it more fun and freeing to just draw new patterns for each job, not to mention it brings a lot of uniqueness to the piece.

Here are some closer pictures of the tooling on the wade from before. This saddle is the Centennial saddle that we built for the 4-H of Texas. This was a very fun saddle to build and it was for a wonderfull organization. The saddle will be given away at the Centennial kickoff in October.