Pinsplitter

Machine Questions

Can't find my old thread, so here goes. I am a real newbie sorry.

I want to sew bags, from small ones to larger golf bags,

i can't justify a 36 inch long arm machine (talking $6000), so i know there will be compromises and some hand stitching needed.

I am researching cylinder arm machines from China.

I am in Australia and there almost no machines available here.

One that looks kinda ok has up to 11mm stitch, 20mm presser foot lift and 1000 rpm clutch motor.

It is Unison Feed.

What is Unison feed compared to Compound Feed?

They said that a servo motor would not be suitable for this machine, why would that be?

Can't you put a servo motor on any machine you want.

How much speed control would you have with a 1000rpm clutch motor?

i have only done a little sewing on an almost uncontrollable clutch motor machine and its wrecks nearly all my attempts to make a nice straight stitch.

If you change pulleys to slow a machine down, what final speed would be good?

I see that servo motors go from zero to about 250rpm i think.

What power would be required from a servo motor?

Sorry for so many dumb questions, hope you can help, thanks

One comment about servo motors (any variable speed motor in fact), motor speed and motor torque are proportional. So low motor speed means low motor torque, and not enogh torque to punch through heavier leather. Gear or pulley speed reducers keep the motor speed up, and the gear or pulley speed reducer multiplies the torque by inverse speed ratio.

So for heavy/thick leather projects, keep the motor speed up and use gear or pulley speed reducers. That is the reason you see a 3 to 4" pulley on machines that sew up to 3/8" thickness, and a much largeer pulley on the heavy stitchers ... about 9" or greater. Someone rejigged theirs with an 11" pully.

CTG

I thought you could buy Cowboy machines in AUS though Jim Saddler:

http://leatherworker...ndpost&p=121026