I took on an order for a burnt/tattered flag on a phone case. I told the guy I'm not good at realistic, at all, and this would take me some time and a lot of work. I'm about to refund his money because I just can't do it. I cannot paint shadows, and for the life of me, I dlcant figure out how to paint a burn along the edges of a tattered flag. I've tried using my wood burner but it just melts the paint and still leaves me hopeless with painting shadows. I hate to do it, but I think I would be better off giving him his money back. How embarrassing.

The first photo, all I've done is painted red, white and blue. The second photo is my attempt at painting the burn. I gave up. Laugh all you like, but I TOLD the guy I'm not good at this shit. He said he has faith in me and that we could figure something out he would like.

post-62762-0-88386500-1454901959_thumb.j

post-62762-0-57479300-1454902003_thumb.j

Hey, I am proud of you for going outside of your limits. But you did a fine job! You can always take a lighter to it if you want to provide some charring OR you can cut out the voids and filigree with thin black leather.

Thank you. :) I didn't think to filigree. It still doesn't solve the problem of shadows on the flag, though. He wants it to be darker. Beat up.

Hi Indidana.

Why don't you try the other way around? I mean, use the wood burner first and then paint it. In the burned areas, thin the paint (you used acrylic paints, right?) just to give it a slight coloration. And by experience, I know that the paint (I used dye, though) won't stick the same way as in the rest of the leather.

I don't know if you're experienced or not with burning leather (I'm not :) just made a few tries), but just in case check this free tutorial by Lora s. Irish:

http://www.lsirish.com/tutorials/pyrography-tutorials/pyrography-leather-journal/

The only problem is that you'll have to start a new case.

And the filigree is a great idea!

Sandra

Indiana,