llucas

Thread Compatibility Of Nylon And Polyester.

I posted this in the sewing section, but no response so I'll put it here (since it has to do with sewing machine).

It is a newbie question. I recently purchased an Adler 205-374 that I am refurbishing. I am new to machine sewing leather having only hand stitched up to this point. I.e., I am an utter and complete novice who only knows not to put my finger under the needle when the machine is running. I recently purchased five one pound spools of 277 bonded nylon thread at a good price. For my holster sewing I purchased some 346 bonded polyester because I like the look of the heavier thread and the dealer only sold polyester thread. Here is the question: can I use the 277 nylon for the bobbin and the 346 polyester for the top stitch? Or should I only use nylon top and bottom or polyester top and bottom without mixing them?

Follow-up newbie question: does bonded nylon thread have a shelf life? This stuff is about five years old.

Edited by llucas

I use both nylon and polyester, it is difficult to tell them apart. The polyester will stand up to sun exposure better than nylon. I wouldn't worry about mixing them.I like to use one size smaller thread on the bottom. Thread does get dry and lose strength over time, as far as how old is too old, I'm sure someone else will be able to give some advise.

Edited by Sonydaze

Sonydaze, thanks. A dealer told me they had a different "stretch rate" and that Polyester did not stretch as much as nylon. This forum is a great source of information from practitioners who have learned the hard way what works and what does not. Thanks again.

The reason I asked about shelf life and thread drying out is I used the older nylon when I was getting the machine up and running and it frayed pretty badly. If that is from drying out I wonder if the thread can be relubed with some kind of spray?