Sign in to follow this  
Lobo

Another Look At The Threepersons-Style

I have been making the Threepersons-style holsters for many years. About 18 months ago I commissioned a very talented man to recreate the carving pattern on Tom Threepersons' original holster. Since that time orders have been steady.

I have always thought that floral and Sheridan-style carving were best displayed with a natural oiled tan finish. Some customers like an antique finish. Some like the black-inked background.

I recently receive an order for the carved Threepersons-style holster in cordovan brown. I was somewhat concerned that the dark finish would not properly display the carving work, but when it was finished I found it to be a real eye-catcher!

Here it is. 8-oz. Hermann Oak lined with 3-oz. calfskin, dyed, lightly oiled, sealed with acrylic and final finish of Bag Kote. It carries a Smith & Wesson Model 29 .44 magnum 4".

post-7487-049730500 1280937576_thumb.jpg

Edited by Lobo

Lobo, that is a great looking holster. Excellent work.

Very nice. If you apply the antique for those customers that request it, at what point do you apply it?

I love it! You wouldn't want to share that floral pattern with us would you?:specool:

I have been making the Threepersons-style holsters for many years. About 18 months ago I commissioned a very talented man to recreate the carving pattern on Tom Threepersons' original holster. Since that time orders have been steady.

I have always thought that floral and Sheridan-style carving were best displayed with a natural oiled tan finish. Some customers like an antique finish. Some like the black-inked background.

I recently receive an order for the carved Threepersons-style holster in cordovan brown. I was somewhat concerned that the dark finish would not properly display the carving work, but when it was finished I found it to be a real eye-catcher!