Wynfrith

Wynfrith's First Holster

post-51219-0-69308000-1413834672_thumb.j

This is the first serious leather project I have ever done, and wanted to show it off. My mistakes are silly as firstly I did not make the belt loop big enough to accommodate most belts. Secondly my edges are way too rough, but that all apart of learning. I will be making more later on, and will correct those mistakes. I am also thinking about using rivets instead of stitching, but I am not sure if one is better than the other.

Looks like a good one for a first. We all have to learn from out mistakes. I'm still learning and have made lots of holsters. I think you are better off using stitches instead of rivets. You could also learn to lace and do them with lace like I do. It is fun to lace and the holsters look good too.

I did not think about using lace. I will add that to my list off things to do in the future. I want to make slightly different looking versions of this one. That way I will learn the pattern, but I will also learn other techniques to help me with other projects and ideas.

Kaint tell.. is that a Walther? I aint much of a laced holster guy, I admit. Paranoia maybe, but I like the strength of the stitch. In your case, I might recommend a slightly smaller stitch length.

You've taken the biggest step in figuring these things... the FIRST one! If you're sacrificing the holster to learning experience, then I might suggest that you wet the thing, and "bone" the leather under the trigger guard WITHOUT taking that apart. Then with a small ruler or scale you can see how much tighter the stitch line "could be" (in fact, you could let it dry that way and stitch again if you cared to).

Couple issues you already mention you are aware of. Still, progress is good -- git it RIGHT, then you can git it purdy :)

Oh, I'm with Rohn on the rivets.

Edited by JLSleather