shagey71

Used To Fix Tore Up Saddles, Now Doing Holsters... Lemme Have It

As I said, I used to fix stuff more than build stuff but I have done about 30 holsters now, I'll throw up a couple for some critique. I'd like these to get better so try your best to offend me. I have thick skin.

post-33453-0-65330100-1365609418_thumb.j

post-33453-0-89645400-1365609440_thumb.j

post-33453-0-77973900-1365609455_thumb.j

For starters, these all look really good, but I know what you mean about always wanting to get better. I am still pretty new to holster making myself, but I'll see if I can help.

On your first holster, it looks like there are some wrinkles near your stitching. If that happened while you were molding, you should be able to smooth them back out a bit with whatever molding tool you are using. It also looks like the edges on the first one could use some more burnishing. It looks like there are some little leather strings sticking out, but it could just be the picture.

On the others, if you have some pictures of the backsides and edges I could offer up some more ideas. How close are your mag release buttons to the back side of the holsters? The middle one looks like it would be close...

Hopefully that gives you something to start with, and maybe some of the more experienced folks can give you some more help.

Good Work though!

- Michael

The burnishing comment is absolutely true. As on now I am rubbing my edges down with the gum tragacanth, then rubbing it with an antler or a sharpie like I'm trying to start a fire. I have also used the smooth rounded part of the metal chuck on my dremel to heat up the gum and burnish. Honestly I want something better. I've seen these nylon looking routed out stems on folks' drill presses in pictures but I have no idea what they are called to even look into ordering one. What has worked best for y'all?