I'm trying to do a true sheridan brown finish on parts for a purse. I know the steps are:

1] neatsfoot oil

2] neatlac as a resist

3] antique

4] tankote, bagkote or supershene

I applied a light, uniform coat of neatsfoot oil (the pure stuff, not the compound) on both sides with a foam brush & left the parts to dry overnight. This morning, the parts are all splotchy, as though not all the oil has dried or dried properly. :helpsmilie:

A] Is this normal?

B] If not, how can I correct this?

C] Or will it really matter in the final stages???

D] What color of antique is generally used?

I have never liked neatsfoot oil & so this is my very first attempt at a genuine sheridan brown finish.

russ

I suggest wiping everything down with a deglazer. Even though you're putting oil on it, residual grime/gunk can effect the absorbtion rate. Other than that idea, I'm all ears.

I'm trying to do a true sheridan brown finish on parts for a purse. I know the steps are:

1] neatsfoot oil

2] neatlac as a resist

3] antique

4] tankote, bagkote or supershene

I applied a light, uniform coat of neatsfoot oil (the pure stuff, not the compound) on both sides with a foam brush & left the parts to dry overnight. This morning, the parts are all splotchy, as though not all the oil has dried or dried properly. :helpsmilie:

A] Is this normal?

B] If not, how can I correct this?

C] Or will it really matter in the final stages???

D] What color of antique is generally used?

I have never liked neatsfoot oil & so this is my very first attempt at a genuine sheridan brown finish.

russ

I've only been working with leather for about a year, so I'm no expert. Here are my experiences....