flipperjoint

Sewing Through Thick Spots With Juki 1541S

Hi All,

Newbie here and I'm having a problem sewing through thick spots/bumps of leather/zippers with the 1541s. When it hits the bump, the walker foot won't move forward and the needle just moves in place.

I wonder if it's because the pressure foot is too strong? Is there any way to adjust that?

Any advice is much appreciated! :)

You might try a Dritz Jean-a-ma-jig. I've never used one on leather, but not infrequently on fabric and webbing. I've used it behind then the needle sewing over thicker materials and also in front of of the needle sewing off thicker materials. Joann's also carries them.

http://www.amazon.com/Prym-Dritz-915-R-Jean-A-Ma-Jig/dp/B000J4IH0M

I've read that the hump-jumper was the original and can be gotten in a set of one or two thicknesses.

http://www.thecolorfulworldofsewing.com/The-Hump-Jumper.html

I also have this set of five pressor foot spacers of various thicknesses.

http://www.threadstandhero.com/Presser_Foot_Spacers.html

See attached DNU-1541 image, this should make a difference trying to get up and over higher piles. Most machines of this type have this adjustment.

post-14272-0-90606500-1425911067_thumb.j

You might try a Dritz Jean-a-ma-jig. I've never used one on leather, but not infrequently on fabric and webbing. I've used it behind then the needle sewing over thicker materials and also in front of of the needle sewing off thicker materials. Joann's also carries them.

http://www.amazon.com/Prym-Dritz-915-R-Jean-A-Ma-Jig/dp/B000J4IH0M

I've read that the hump-jumper was the original and can be gotten in a set of one or two thicknesses.

http://www.thecolorfulworldofsewing.com/The-Hump-Jumper.html

I also have this set of five pressor foot spacers of various thicknesses.

http://www.threadstandhero.com/Presser_Foot_Spacers.html