ravenwing110

Can I make a scabbard out of this?

Hi everyone,

My friend gave me some leather yesterday and I've always wanted a scabbard. Would that be terribly difficult for a complete beginner? If not, what are the absolute minimum tools I would need? I have craft knives and an exacto, and it came with some needles. I appreciate any help you guys can give.

IMAG0380.jpg

Look up knife sheath scabbard videos. The knives you have will work. How thick is the leather?  What kind of needles? You will need an awl to punch holes for stitching. Also look up welts. You will need to put in scabbard so blade doesn't cut stitching. Need cardboard to make working pattern to start with. 

Thank you so much!

The leather is about 3/16", in some places 1/4".

The needles say "Harness needle size 0".

Is the contact cement for holding the welts in? Also, are the welts leather as well?

Yes welts are leather. You glue then sew. Sounds like the leather is heavy enough. Check out Ian Atkinson on YouTube Leodis Leather. He does a video of a welted knife sheath. Smaller version of what you want to do. Fancier than you will do to but it will give you the idea of what you need to do.

Yes, . . . welts are leather as well, . . . contact cement "glues" the whole thing together so it does not move while you sew it.  

That is an ambitious project, . . . and personally I love doing knife sheaths and sword scabbards, . . . it is a real fun break from other things I do.

Good luck, . . . there are probably some good videos out there, . . . just be sure to put in a welt all the way around that sword, . . . if you don't, eventually you will cut the stitching, . . . and it will fall apart.

May God bless,

Dwight

The contact cement holds everything together while you stitch.
The welts are leather, too.
Usually sword scabbards (historically) are built from wood, which is then covered with leather.