ZATARA

Diamond Chisel Recommendation Needed

A fork on my diamond chisel bent on a recent project and it caused some havoc with my stitching lines, before I figured out what was going on. As such, I am looking for a recommendation on a more quality set that I can purchase. I was also hoping on a recommendation for how many TPI I should be looking for. I am a hobbyist who does small projects like wallets, journal covers, and tool pouches. I believe the chisel set that I have now is 6 TPI, but I am not 100% sure as my wife gave me the set when I first started the hobby and I did not even know what to look for. I do not want to break the bank on this purchase, but I believe in investing in quality tools. 

Thanks for reading, and any advice is appreciated.

tip 1.) pick the ones that you can punch clean consistent wholes on both sides, I dont recommend the ones with tapered prongs. - just my preference. Also - the longer prongs the better so you can use it for thick leather

tip 2.) Use the most TPI's... the ones i use has a spacing of about 2.6mm - prong to prong - this is already very fine and is good for just about any small project such as wallets. It'll look neat for sure. - so two pieces of this, one with the most number of prongs you can get, and another one with only 2 prongs - for curved stitches.

If you're good with DIY's and you have a dremel like tool - heck you hardly have to purchase anything, go pick a fork with some decent thickness, cut the handle and shape the teeth into slants - they all have to be evenly spaced, evenly shaped and polished - Best thing about this is that its adjustable!  --- thats what i used up until now and never had to buy crazy expensive tools for making stitching holes.

I second watching Nigel Armitage's tutorials. If you want to get really refined looking stitches on any thickness of leather, than learn how to use a pricking iron and awl. It does take a heck of a lot of repetition to get good at it.