Jaybogg

Singer 31-15 capabilities

Sorry if this question has been asked a gazillion times, but I couldn't find a thread with the answer, so here goes... Can a singer 31-15 sew leather, and if so, how thick?  I am a hobbyist knifemaker who currently hand sews all my sheaths... Looking for something that will sew 1/4" to almost 1/2" leather and came across a 31-15 that I'd like to buy if it has these capabilities... Thx in advance for any info you may be able to give me... Thx, JB

It will depend on the leather but it should sew just a little over 1/4" maybe 5/16" & uses thread up to size #138 thread.

Edited by CowboyBob

Cowboy Bob, Thank you sir for your prompt reply...  The price on this machine is really good but with that said, it doesn't do me any good if I can't use it!! Sounds like it would be on the low side or below what I am looking for... Most my sheaths are ~8-9 oz veg tan, three layers thick with the welt... Guestimate the thickness to be a proud 3/8 at least... Thx again for the feedback... I am a didabled vet who does this as a form of occupational therapy since I cannot work, so money is definitely a consideration... really hope that this machine would fit the bill as it is listed at under 100 bucks... Oh well, guess I'll just keep lookin' and hopin'!! ;)

I understand its a good price but if you really want a leather machine look for a 111w155.  The 31-15  is tailor machine not a leather machine, but it is old cast iron so whatever fits under the foot it will probably sew.  I assume it will have an old clutch motor on it and this will be the hard part, since you wont have any control, you will tap the pedal and it will take-off like a rocket.   You could put a roller-foot on it and a servo motor and that would give it more control, however then your spending more money and may as well look for a 111 machine that already has a servo motor.