I am fairly new to antiqueing.  I am using Fiebings Medium Brown Antique Finish.  I am pleased with the results after I apply and wipe off the antique gel.  I have problems when I apply a finish over it.  The first time I used Fiebings Resoline and it smeared the antiquing around and ruined one piece of the project (I had to redo that piece).   I completed that project by spraying the resolene on after antiqueing.  I thought maybe I didn't let the antiqueing dry long enough so this time I let it dry a week - then I applied resoline to a test section and once again the antiqueing smears when applying resolene :(.   Is the solution to always spray the finish coat over the antiqueing?   (I don't really like spraying but if this is the solution ok, I can do it).   Is the problem Resolene?   Would tan kote or RTC smear the antiqueing the same as resolene (the Tan Kote bottle says it can be applied over antiqueing)?   I picked up some RTC this last Friday and haven't tried it yet, but want to try it on a future project.  Anyway is there any finish I can apply directly after antiqueing other than spraying?   I wanted to ask before I test every possible combination myself

Thanks

Check out Don Gonzales on YouTube. He has a good video on antique. I never use the stuff, but spraying will probably always be the best, most even finish. Try and get a few projects ready to spray at the same time. This will save some cleanup/set-up time.

I let antique paste dry overnight, then seal with a couple of coats of Resolene cut 50/50 with distilled water and sprayed on with an airbrush.  Never have problems with smearing.

Gary

Clear lac can be applied directly over antique paste with no waiting time.  Been doing it for over 50 yrs.  If you are not using wool to remove excess, you are not getting it all.

Terry