Londonfog

Is the Pfaff 238 appropriate for heavier duty leather work?

I'm completely new to this world, but eventually would like to work on some leather upholstery like for a couch. I'd also like to work on raw denim as well, and probably some outdoor fabrics for yard furniture and cushions.

Anyways, there is a Pfaff 238 available semi-locally and I was wondering if it's appropriate for leather work. It's not a walking foot, which I think is considered a major knock against it, but it has the advantage of being local, working, and seemingly affordable.

To be most specific, its full model number is the 238-0-6ASX.0 So it's definitely a 238-0 variant, and I think the "A" makes it able to do a slightly narrower stitch at a higher RPM than the B variant.

I gathered that data from a manual someone shared on here, and the manual states that the 238 is an updated version of the Pfaff 138, so I imagine the machines are very similar in material capabilities if anybody only has experience with the 138.

Also, what would a good price be for a running 238-0 with motor and table? 

Thanks in advance for any help! 

No.

16 minutes ago, DrmCa said:

No.

Care to comment on the other questions, as well as maybe the max capabilities to expect? 

I ask for the sake of posterity, because both the 138 and 238 do show up in searches, and are well spoken of, but lack specific details on what to expect from them in regards to working with leather and cost. 

Hi,

that's a highspeed garment sewing machine designed to do 4500 stitches/minute. The "A" in Pfaff-designations refers to light capacity, lightweight materials, the "S" refers to Stoff, german for fabric. Think of curtains, shirts, bedsheets. I assume, posterity will be able to find out, because, as you write, they do show up in searches.