Davm

holster and sheath Edges

I am still learning.  I started with the sides sewn together, then started using a welt.  THEN added a liner on the holsters.  That resulted in an edge about 3/4" thick so then I started skiving both sides and using a tapered welt.  One problem I am still having with laminated or multiple pieces of leather sewn together is a nicely finished edge. Right now I sand and burnish then repeat until I get something pretty good but there are spots where the glue is visible.  If I dye the edge that helps but then there still seems to be soft areas that are dinks or depressions and I have been using shoe wax that is the same color as the dyed edge to even out everything.  Getting a nice edge is my number one area I need to improve, the rest of the project looks good.  Any tips of the trade appreciated. Thanks.

Oh the dreaded edge.  It just plain sucks getting it right.

That thickness is a whole different beast than what I work with.  I make gusseted handbags and small items.  My thickest edge may be 10 ounce. I've seen saddle makers that cut and glue their leather together wider than the finished piece and trim it with a head knife to get a smooth even edge.  You may get by with a drum sander.  

Glue, I use flammable contact cement applied thinly.  I don't have issues with glue lines. I've tried water based glues and have had issues seeing the glue line.  I hammer and use a roller on top of the edge.  

I would not think shoe polish would work well.  There is a hard wax made by Columbia that is used with an electric filletuese that will work for some filling.  The wax needs to be melted and will fill some gaps.  You can use a hot butter knife.  District leather supply and Rocky mountain leather sells the stuff.

The technique I use is from a leather worker named Niwa of Niwa leathers.  

1) make your trim cut super clean.  The cleanest, glassiest cut-edge possible.
2) bevel/round the edges.