DustinSmith

Old band saw blade

A friend of mine gave me about 6 feet of an old band saw blade, 2" wide because i wanted to try to make a utility/pattern knife. Here's what I came up with, my question is how hard are saw blades usually? And does a knife made from it hold a good edge? All my files were skipping off the metal because it seems harder than the file. 

20210222_173706.jpg

20210222_173716.jpg

This is my first attempt at knife making btw so any additional advice appreciated 

It's complicated.  Most bandsaw metal cutting blades are edge hardened thus retaining some flexibility to the rest of the blade.  However they probably are the same overall chemistry.  If your blade retains the edge than your good to go. You can harden by heating the edge cherry red (about 1500 F ) until a magnet won't stick, quickly quench in water.  That edge is now very hard and can be sharpened to a wicked edge, however very brittle.  I use sawzall metal cutting blades for my leather knife, being careful to sharpen the teeth slowly without heating the blade.  Walter Sorrels has great youtube videos.

Hi,

Old sawblades are usually "L6" Steel.

As was stated the critical temp for hardening is about 1550 degrees.

Temper temp for a knife is about 350 degrees.

To make the knife properly without forging, it is usually "normalized", ground or shaped and then quenched and tempered.

I won't go into heat cycling, to reduce the grain structure, and other things custom knife makers use to make a better knife.

Some people, spend their entire lives, learning about Knifemaking and the Heat Treatment of Steel!

Custom shop made knives, are superior to commercial mass produced knives, for a reason!

https://www.bladeforums.com/threads/saw-blade-steel-l6.108694/

Edited by seagiant