jonlrussell

Leather for sword scabbard

So I'm still in the very early planning stage of making a scabbard for my sword. The core will be wood with a leather outer. I'm still very new to leather working but I do know that using a chrome tan with a sword is a bad idea and using veg tan is really the way to go. But, I was wondering if using an oil tan would work. I didn't know if the oils would protect the steel from the salts in the leather, or if maybe the wood core would be enough to protect it.. I'm mainly asking because I have some nice oil tan I'd like to use for it, but if veg tan is really the only way to go that's what I'll do.

Most oil tans are chrome tanned. And if the scabbard is wood and just covered with leather, then it won't matter what tannage you use.

What tsunkasapa said, only adding that veg tan is the way to go if you're doing decorative moulding; if you're not, it doesn't really matter, you can even use chrome tan if you want, which has the advantage of being more resistant to the elements.

If you use 4 layers of veg tan . . . say 10 oz . . . 2 of them put together with Weldwood contact cement for the front and 2 for the back . . . you can put neatsfoot oil on the two interior layers to keep your sword from rusting.  The contact cement will keep it inside the leather.

Make sure to put a welt all around the outside of the sheath . . . and cut it so it fits within 1 1/16th of an inch of your blade.  The welt should be 8 oz or so.  Contact cement that welt to the back slde of the sheath.