Sign in to follow this  
TRM

How do I store my tools?

I have come into a large number of leather craft tools. How or what is the best ways to organize these

tools. (I am a beginner) I now have them in a pile, when I need a certain tool I have to pick thru them till

I find the one I need, by the time I find the tool, I have to rewet the leather. Any suggestions on how to bring order to this mess?

Ted

Ted,

I would sujest that you take a piece of Oak or some other wood (preferably a hardwood) and drill a mess of holes into it. That way you can arrange the tools in such a way that they are more organized. Like tools in one row with smaller to larger.

Ken

I have come into a large number of leather craft tools. How or what is the best ways to organize these

tools. (I am a beginner) I now have them in a pile, when I need a certain tool I have to pick thru them till

I find the one I need, by the time I find the tool, I have to rewet the leather. Any suggestions on how to bring order to this mess?

Ted

HEY THERE, IF YOU HAVE WALL SPACE , I USE PEG BOARD WITH THE HANGERS

TO PUT MY TOOLS ON. I LIKE TO KEEP THEM IN SITE. :whatdoyouthink:

Ted, i assumed that these are stamping tools. Then the suggestion on a series of holes is correct. However, if you are not familiar with the tools, get yourself a catalog from Hide Crafters or tandy. This will have all the tools presently being made in order. This will give you an idea of their relative use. You would want the backgrounders (A Tools), the bevelers (B Tools), etc, together I would also check this catalog for tool holders. You might find one that is sized to meet your needs. Carl