Casm

Various Types Of Sealer That Won't Rub Off On Flesh/clothes

So, I've recently found myself in a dilemma. I make gauntlets and got commissioned for a set that I had to dye and paint (fiebings hi-lite dye and paint on both) and now I'm left concerned that, though it doesn't appear to have any problem with water or rub-off now, that it might down the road.

The fiebings sealers I've come across seem to leave a very glossy finish, which I would like to avoid. So what's a sealer that can not only take being rubbed on itself (the gauntlets have jointed fingers that'll rub on each other) but can also take rubbing on skin and being wet really well without rubbing off on clothes or skin?

I've tried searching a bit and it looks like fiebings snow proof paste sealer is suggested fairly often. Are there others? Will this keep the dye in without rubbing off? Do I have to worry about the sealer rubbing off on clothes? Etc

I'm still pretty new to finishes, and still learning, so take this with a grain of salt. That being said. there are three basic types of finishes as far as I can tell. You have oils, waxes, and acrylics. Oils are, Neatsfoot, the Mop & Glo trick, ect. For waxes, you have beeswax, Carnauba Cream, Gum Trag, and the like. In your case, Acrylics are of course your super sheen, Wyosheen, Saddle Lac (technically a lacquer but same effect basically), all that stuff.

Because you are making something that will have dyes touching skin for extended periods, you will probobly want to go with an acrylic. The first thing that comes to mind for this application would be Satin Sheen. It's not near as glossy as the other "sheens", but still pretty liquid repellant. It still might be too glossy for you, but that's the first thing I'd try.

FYI: Mop -n- Glo is actually an acrylic. Gum tragicanth is a gum used for slicking not finishing. I wouldn't use plain oil a finish really. They're mostly for conditioning leather. Hope that helps you both.