kgg

Swing Away Clicker Press Fabrication

I decided that I would like a manual swing away clicker press and done the calculations on what size of clicker press would work for me. A 5 ton. Then the next step was to check the pricing for one. What I found was that my budget would need to be somewhere between $2500 CAD ($1850 USD) and $3300 CAD ($2450 USD) depending on the vendor.

Not happening.

So me being me I figure I would purchase a new 20 ton shop / bearing press (Princess Auto ) and convert it too a swing away clicker press. I estimated that it could be done including the cost of the shop / bearing press for around the $700 CAD ($520 USD). Guess which way I choose to go???

Additionally the shop / bearing press is not a one trick pony as it will be used for other pressing functions besides leather. 

So I have been mucking around with this project on and off for a couple of months now. Here is what I have come up with so far. I have broken this into two parts, one for what I would consider necessary upgrades to the shop / bearing press and a second part dealing with the additional modifications necessary for a 16" x 12" the swing away clicker press.

The first video is a overview of the, dirty dozen plus eight, mods for convenience and too severely reduce problems or minimize risks. Some mods reduce / eliminate the side to side or front to back slop movement of the main C-channel cross members and the base of the bottle jack, another eliminates the dreaded main C-channel cross member support pin creep then there are couple to prevent the presser plate (s) from slipping off the main C-channel cross members and falling on my tootsies. I usually where slippers while in the house and that is where the shop / bearing press will be.

Others mods are for convenience like a parts catch / storage bag, lighting, lifting / lowering the C-channel cross members and installation of four retractable wheels for portability.