I have been messing with leather for a couple years and want to get into carving floral patterns.  I have a swivel knife and a smooth (medium sized) bevel and a medium camouflage tool.  I am wanting to get set up so I don't have to buy a bunch along the way but I am confused at the sizing and the tool numbers.  I was going to get:

Steep Checkered Bevel

Medium Checkered Bevel

Veiner

Mules foot

Pear Shader

Flower Center

Backgrounder

But I am not sure of the sizes as I go to Tandy or Weaver.  Does anyone happen to have tool numbers that are good all around beginner?  Do you think I need something else that I am missing? 

32 minutes ago, bmedlin said:

I have been messing with leather for a couple years and want to get into carving floral patterns.  I have a swivel knife and a smooth (medium sized) bevel and a medium camouflage tool.  I am wanting to get set up so I don't have to buy a bunch along the way but I am confused at the sizing and the tool numbers.  I was going to get:

Steep Checkered Bevel

Medium Checkered Bevel

Veiner

Mules foot

Pear Shader

Flower Center

Backgrounder

But I am not sure of the sizes as I go to Tandy or Weaver.  Does anyone happen to have tool numbers that are good all around beginner?  Do you think I need something else that I am missing? 

Check out Pro Leather Carvers. They have complete sets or individual tools. 

I have bought a bunch of their carving tools & I am super happy. 

On 3/18/2024 at 3:38 PM, bmedlin said:

Steep Checkered Bevel

Medium Checkered Bevel

Veiner

Mules foot

Pear Shader

Flower Center

Backgrounder

Steep checkered beveler:

B936

Medium checkered bevelers:

B701, B702

Pear shader:

P206, P208

Flower center:

J816

Backgrounder:

A114

I have the others but these are the ones I've used so much I remember the actual numbers.

Edited by cord1974