BarABarLeatherworks

Help-Drawing Your Own Patterns

Okay you seasoned leather workers I need some help!

I am a newer worker and just have been tracing patterns, but I am ready to start drawing my own but let me tell you, I am having a heck of a time!

I need some tips and tricks to help me. I understand the general idea, but I have such a hard time making everything flow together. I would love a computer program, but would love to see books or illustrations and hear what everyone has to say!

Thanks!

Hannah

You should try inkscape. It's a free vector drawing program (think adobe illustrator). Its pretty intuitive and very flexible. You should be able to look up some tutorials if you are having problems figuring it out.

I'm not an expert but I can get around in inkscape. If you do decide to try it out and have some questions message me and I'll try to help you out.

Good luck!

if you know all the techniques (rolled edges, adding extra length for the curves, knowing leather characteristics) then when it comes to making a pattern it is easier for you.

Search product design on youtube for a quick look at how to get an overall idea of the look and then break it down into sections.

Hannah, this why I wrote a book - for folks just like you. I'm out on the truck right now but as soon as I can I'm going to get with you and help you on your quest. Now, being an old timer I feel it's best to start designing patterns by hand before you go to computer do you can get a feel for distances, fold allowances, and other stuff that goes into pattern design.

You will be amazed at what you can design with the simplest of tools.

Jim R. Simmons

Etowah River Productions

Put a center line on what your going to make your pattern out of and measure off of that. Cans, plates, washers are good for making corners and curves. If your attaching a gusset or something like that be sure and add a seam allowence, tape your pattern togeather before you cut leather to make sure things fit.